Email RSS Feed Twitter Facebook Google+
The Spotted Cow
Site Rating:
User Rating:
VN:R_N [1.9.22_1171]
Taste
Presentation
Value
Portion size
Service
Ambience
Rating: 8.7/10 (3 votes cast)

The Spotted Cow can be found on North Street and is essentially at the border between Southville and Bedminster.

The pub is in a building with over 200 years of history, however the décor inside is modern and fresh. There is a large bar area inside with seating all around and a few big bench tables suitable for large parties.

Billed as a gastro pub the emphasis is on quality food, drink and music and many of these elements are locally sourced with some bits of the menu even being grown onsite on their own roof garden.

This is a very popular pub so if you are looking to get a table inside then booking in advance is definitely advised. There is a garden to the rear where there are a load more benches and tables to sit and eat, however as it’s a sun trap in the summer this also gets very crowded.

Rate this review or log in to write a comment of your own.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)

The food is very good here and they often offer a few extra special options. For example on the day I went there was roasted suckling pig on offer though the price put me off eating Wilbur.

In the end I opted for the Beef and was not disappointed. The meat was very well cooked and there were lashings of gravy, however I felt a little hard done by with the lack of roast potatoes. Only 2 if I remember right. My fellow reviewers had the pork which looked equally lovely.

I felt this was a very good roast but it lacked that certain something to push it over the edge and make it really stand out.
 

139 North Street  Bedminster, Bristol, BS3 2EZ
visit The Spotted Cow’s website

5 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Hels says
    09/02/2015, 1:24 pm
    Taste
    Presentation
    Value
    Portion size
    Service
    Ambience

    My family and I had a lovely roast dinner at the Spotted Cow yesterday (08/02/15), £10.99 for shoulder of pork, my partner had the roast beef for £12.99 and our daughter had a kids roast beef for £5.

    Ample veg (3 large and very crispy roast potatoes, one whole roasted carrot, swede, kale, red cabbage, possibly more even but definitely not stingy anymore!), apple sauce, nice meat although the pork was a little dry, and very nice gravy (lots of it). The kids version was exactly the same as a full main but smaller and the gravy was separate in a small jug. The roast beef comes with a large home-made Yorkshire Pudding and there was the option to have one with any of the roast mains at no extra cost.

    A good range of real ales and a nice friendly atmosphere. The only downside was the acoustics when a number of people are talking on nearby tables, it was actually difficult to hear each other at times and not very relaxing but it wouldn’t put me off going again.

    Reply
  2. Xan says
    07/10/2013, 3:09 pm

    Review suggests not outstanding, and a bit stingy on the potatoes, yet the marks out of 10 seem very high. Strange.

    Reply
    • Le Rosbif says
      24/11/2013, 11:48 am

      Hi Xan

      The scores on Roast Review are made up of 2 elements. One is the site rating – my score which in this case was 7/10, it was good food even if a little stingy on the spud front. The other is an aggregate of the user ratings. In this instance the pub has 2 very high scoring user reviews currently giving it an overall rating of 8.6 out of 10. If you feel this is unjust a lower rating would pull this average down, however the idea of the site is that it is very opinion based.

      One of the weaknesses of the site at the moment that it does not have enough people commenting and rating pubs. We get 1,500 ish people a month using the site and only 1 or 2 comments. I am working on ways to improve this but any suggestions that you have would be most appreciated. You can mail me at info@roast-review.co.uk.

      Spread the word to your friends and fellow roast lovers as well please. The site will come into its own when more people use it.

      Many thanks.

      Reply
  3. pampam says
    28/02/2013, 9:54 am
    Taste
    Presentation
    Value
    Portion size
    Service
    Ambience

    Fantastic roast, want to give it a ten for everything but it’s not the best in the world! Amazing meat, relaxed atmosphere, Doggies welcome.
    I could have stayed all day and watched the day drift by.,

    Reply
  4. Tom says
    09/12/2012, 6:20 pm
    Taste
    Presentation
    Value
    Portion size
    Service
    Ambience

    Great roast, worth booking in advance.

    Reply
You have already reviewed this item.